Shred Tunes.

What makes a good shred tune? THIS is something your friends, probably, won’t tell you. None of mine did anyway. I like to think they did this as a way to allow me to explore the realm of snowboarding – shred tunes included – on my own. However, in a less philosophical way of thinking, they probably didn’t tell me because shred tunes are purely based on your opinion. Almost every snowboarding movie in existence will tell you M83 makes great shred tunes. And I’m sure they do, but they are not on my playlist. Snowboarding community, please don’t shun me for that comment.

That being said, here are my favorites to shred to. It’s not the entire playlist, but it’s my top five tracks. A word of advice to the (hopefully) newbies reading this – make sure you can successfully get off a chairlift before you start shredding to music. It just becomes one big traffic jam when you fall and then your headphones rip out of your ears. Not to mention, it’s embarrassing. I may or may not be speaking from personal experience. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions.

Kate’s favorite shred tunes (in no particular order):

  1. First Date – Blink 182. I love shredding to Blink and this is by far my favorite song by them, so I figured why not?
  2. Jump Around – House of Pain. I’m a U.N.C fan, duh! Okay, let me back up and drop some knowledge on you – Jump Around is, basically, U.N.C basketball’s theme song. It was made popular because the now-NBA-record-holding Danny Green would dance to it before tip-off.
  3. Underground Kings – Drake. I wrote an entire post dedicated to Drake, so obviously I love him. This song just pumps me up a lot so it made the cut. You’re welcome, Drizzy.
  4. What’s My Age Again – Blink 182. I turned 23 two months before last season started. I quickly realized that no one really does like you when you’re 23 and I decided to remind myself of this during every run on the mountain.
  5. What Makes You Beautiful – One Direction. Don’t judge me, man. Not only do I have a massive soft spot for the British boyband, but one of my favorite memories from shredding Breckenridge was riding down a trail where all you could see was the beautiful blue sky and the mountains in the distance – just as Harry Styles’ solo hit my ears. It was a beautiful experience. No pun intended.

Here is proof I wasn’t lying about Danny Green. It’s not snowboarding, but it’s still pretty cool. And who knows, maybe Danny Green snowboards.

Leave a comment